Press Releases

Clovis Community College Wins 11 Awards at Regional Competition...

Clovis, NM (November, 2007) - Clovis Community College's Department of Theatre production of Buried Child, the 1979 Pulitzer Prize winning play by Sam Shepard, was the top winner in this year's preliminary Region VI competitions of the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival (KCACTF) held on the Amarillo College campus in Amarillo, Texas on November 2.

Under the direction of CCC theater instructor, Christy Mendoza, who won awards for directing and sound design, the CCC cast and crew brought home 11 awards including the coveted Regional Committee Nomination. This production of Buried Child will now compete with other colleges for one of six spots in the KCACTF Region IV competitions which will be held this year in Huntsville, Texas. The KCACTF is a national education program which recognizes, promotes, and inspires quality in college-level theatre productions. It was begun in 1969 and is a catalyst for improving the quality of theatre in the United States. The winning schools in Huntsville will be considered for an invitation to the national festival at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, D.C. in the spring of 2008.

Through state, regional, and national festivals, KCACTF productions enable students to participate and compete in many diverse areas of theatre vying for scholarships, internships, grants, and other awards in the areas of playwriting, directing, acting, design, criticism, and management. One of its most popular awards is the Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship, of which Clovis Community College has three nominees. This award is named after the actress who is best known for her portrayal of "Granny" on The Beverly Hillbillies.

Last year more than 1,300 productions were entered in the KCACTF involving more than 200,000 students nationwide. By entering this production of Buried Child Clovis Community College is sharing in the KCACTF goals to recognize, reward and celebrate the exemplary work produced in college and university theatre departments across the country.

The Clovis Community College students who participated under the direction of instructor Christy Mendoza are Chris Cummins, Jennifer Brandon, Leslie Nagy, Louie Pacheco, Wayne Davies, Dana Albright, Patrick McDaniel, Era Greene, Mark Schmidt, Sean Hinchee, Mary Ann Prior, Kathleen Berry, Joyce Moore, and Ian Allsup. Out of this dedicated group, CCC had three Irene Ryan Acting nominations which include Jennifer Brandon as Shelly, Chris Cummins as Dodge, and Leslie Nagy as Halie.

Technical awards include Kathleen Berry for excellence in Stage Managing; Mark Schmidt for excellence in Set Design; Mark Schmidt for excellence in Lighting Design; Jennifer Brandon and Christy Mendoza for excellence in Sound Design; the Cast and Crew for excellence in Properties Design; Christy Mendoza for excellence in Directing; and the overall production was the only school to receive the Regional Committee Nomination which opens the door to selection to the KCACTF regional festival in Huntsville, Texas which will be hosted by Sam Houston State University

The KCACTF website:

Region IV Website: